new album. Sleepchaser. 11.9.18


It all started sometime between 2001 and 2010 in Cleveland, Ohio with a Sad Bastards Night at the Beachland Tavern and songs from Bliss & Its Consequences. Low Sun Fire and Brave New Strange followed. 

In 2016, A.K. Strange, Carla Cherry (who directs the Night Divided) and Jon Toerner (ex of Cowgirl) congregated in Cincinnati to make music in a warehouse. In late-2017, work began on a new record, Sleepchaser. Release date: 11/9/18.

The Big Takeover magazine said this about the Amprays: "It's what Wilco might sound like covering Guided By Voices... The Amprays paint their pop gems with rock's primary colors -- big open chords through small, dirty amps."

Absolute Powerpop listed Brave New Strange among its favorite releases of 2013. We're not entirely sure what power pop is/was, but we accept the challenge.


Photography: Brian Connors Manke

Musicians (from left): Jon, Carla, A.K.